Central Arkansas Nearly Sweeps Special Awards, All-Conference Teams Named

first_imgNewcomer of the Year went to UCA’s Connie Awuku-Darkoh, Bassett’s partner in crime on offense. Awuku-Darkoh paced the Southland with 0.80 goals per game in league play and her 0.69 goals per game were the 27th-most in the country. For the third-straight year, an Abilene Christian rookie took home Freshman of the Year honors as defender Alyssia Anuat follows in the footsteps of Christina Arteaga and Shay Johnson. Anuat started all 18 matches on the back line for the Wildcats, who held opponents to a league-low four goals in league play. Second Team The regular-season champion Bears claimed all but two of the conference’s superlative awards and tied Abilene Christian with the most all-conference picks at five. McNeese followed with four second-team selections, and defending champion Lamar garnered three all-league honors. Goalkeepers: Alanis Guevara, Houston Baptist; Sandra Nygard, Lamar; Emma Roccaforte, McNeese. Central Arkansas senior Kristen Ricks earned Defender of the Year laurels after anchoring a Bears defense that surrendered just one goal every two matches on average. She was a four-time Southland Conference Defensive Player of the Week in her final season. D Michelle Mulrooney Abilene Christian Jr. Lodi, Calif. F* Christina Arteaga2 Abilene Christian So. Pflugerville, Texas D Sarah Clayton McNeese Sr. Rancho Mission Viejo, Calif. Also named Forward of the Year, Bassett led the league in goals (9), points (21) and points per game (1.75) on the third-most shots (40) in conference play. A three-time all-league selection, her 12 goals and 30 points in overall competition ranked among the top-50 in Division I. Player of the Year:  Camille Bassett, Central Arkansas^Freshman of the Year: Alyssia Anuat, Abilene ChristianNewcomer of the Year: Connie Awuku-Darkoh, Central ArkansasDefender of the Year: Kristen Ricks, Central ArkansasMidfielder of the Year:  Juliana Ocampo, LamarForward of the Year:  Camille Bassett, Central ArkansasGoalkeeper of the Year:  Lauren Mercuri, Central ArkansasCoach of the Year: Jeremy Bishop, Central Arkansas MF* Rachel Palet McNeese Jr. Plano, Texas First Team Pos. Name School Class Hometown ^ – Two-time Player of the Year* – At-large selection2 – Two-time all-conference selection3 – Three-time all-conference selectionHonorable Mention: Defenders: Marina Davidson, Texas A&M-CC; Claire Huston, Southeastern Louisiana; Brooke Lenz, Abilene Christian; Keely Morrow, McNeese; Kelsey Quick, Central Arkansas; Megan Rickert, Houston Baptist.  GK Rachel Johnson Abilene Christian R-Jr. Coppell, Texas F April Trowbridge Northwestern State Sr. Halifax, Nova Scotia D Amelia Fullmer2 Lamar Sr. Pleasant Grove, Utah TOURNAMENT CENTRAL | WATCH LIVEFRISCO, Texas – Central Arkansas senior Camille Bassett became just the second repeat Southland Conference Soccer Player of the Year with the league’s announcement of the superlative award winners and all-conference first and second teams on Tuesday. The superlative awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. MF Shay Johnson Abilene Christian Jr. Coppell, Texas F Havana Johnson McNeese So. Coeur d’Alene, Idaho D Kristen Ricks Central Arkansas Sr. Keller, Texas F Connie Awuku-Darkoh Central Arkansas Jr. Surrey, British Columbia For participating teams, individual superlative winners and all-conference selections will be honored before their first games at the 2018 Southland Conference Soccer Tournament in Beaumont, Texas, taking place Oct. 31-Nov. 5. F Camille Bassett3 Central Arkansas Sr. Vista, Calif. MF Sophie Standifer Abilene Christian Sr. Southlake, Texas Juliana Ocampo was named the Midfielder of the Year and picked up her first all-conference nod. Tied for the second-most goals on the team (6), she found the back of the net three times and had a pair of assists against league opponents, ranking ninth with 0.89 points per game. Pos. Name School Class Hometown Tuesday’s announcement saw seven repeat honorees with Bassett being the lone three-time selection. Houston Baptist’s Baylii Bieke and Sabriah Spencer, Lamar’s Kelso Peskin and Amelia Fullmer, Abilene Christian’s Christina Arteaga and McNeese’s Nola Prickett all earned their second all-league nod. MF Juliana Ocampo Lamar Sr. Bogota, Colombia MF Nola Prickett2 McNeese Sr. Hemet, Calif. Midfielders: Sam Batley, Incarnate Word; Megan Gordon, Southeastern Louisiana; Morgan Middleton, McNeese; Aniki Sultan, Central Arkansas; Rubi Villegas, Lamar.  MF Sophia Fondren Stephen F. Austin So. Frisco, Texas D Sofia Olsson Southeastern Louisiana Sr. Orust, Sweden F Kelso Peskin2 Lamar Sr. Cape Town, South Africa The Southland Conference Soccer All-Conference Teams are nominated and voted upon by the league’s head coaches and SIDs. Each team consists of three defenders, three midfielders, three forwards and a goalkeeper, plus an at-large selection which is given to the next highest vote recipient, regardless of position (not including goalkeepers). To receive honorable mention, a student-athlete must appear on 25 percent of ballots. F Sabriah Spencer2 Houston Baptist Sr. Brampton, Ontario MF Hadley Dickinson Central Arkansas So. Cabot, Ark. GK Lauren Mercuri Central Arkansas Sr. Gig Harbor, Wash. Central Arkansas head coach Jeremy Bishop was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to a four-win improvement overall and three-win swing in Southland action. After dropping an early road contest to Lamar, UCA responded with a program-record nine-match win streak to claim its second conference title in three years. Forwards: Lucy Ashworth, Lamar; Francesca Curteis, Nicholls; Madison Ledet, Lamar; Dylan Owens, Abilene Christian.  D Baylii Bieke2 Houston Baptist Sr. Little Elm, Texas 2018 Southland Conference Soccer All-Conference Teamslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *